☾ 

 

She worried about how it shattered as easily as glass.

Her dreams were up in the castle,

Away from the other things that bled red.

The bindings of her life were slowly being undone, like that of an old book.

They all looked at everything else but her heart,

So she looked up at the night sky scattered with multi-coloured planets.

 

They all mirrored the desires she had in her heart.

In all their glory, shimmering like precious drops of glass.

That was all she could think about, the planets.

She imagined them in her special place in the castle,

Keeping them all as treasured chapters in a book.

But like all good things, they became swallowed by the red.

 

There is no hope for the things that turn red,

It envelops everything in its path, even some of her planets.

That was the start of the shrinking of the book,

And the cracks in her soul of glass.

The colour became the ruler of her castle

And the cage of her heart.

 

While she was up in her castle, he searched for her because he always looked at her heart.

But she never noticed, so he turned to the red.

He made his own castle,

To steal what she longed for, to steal her planets.

His soul, that was once as clean as glass,

Rotted as he poured himself into the red, making it his treasured chapters in a book.

 

He took it upon himself to destroy her book-

To destroy her heart.

Day by day, the cracks became more like spiderwebs in her soul of glass

As he tried to drown her in the red.

But she has her protector, her planets,

So the ghastly stain never ruined her castle.

 

The red was now as close as ever to her castle.

She grasped tightly at her book,

But not out of fear, but determination that flowed into her veins fueled by the planets.

She saw him now and her heart

Dropped at the sight of him no-the red.

She fought until the spiderwebs turned to shatters in her soul of glass.

 

He thought he won when it shattered, he was wrong. The stardust of her heart

Killed the red,

All the while staying as pure as glass.

 

 

 


Explanation:

This is my take on a “sestina poem.” The format of this poem goes as follows:

ABCDEF

FAEBDC

CFDABE

ECBFAD

DEACFB

BDFECA

ECA

 

The letters represent the same word that needs to be repeated at the end of each line in the stanzas. My words are as follows:

 glass (A)

 castle (B)

 red (C)

 book (D)

 heart (E)

 planets (F)

 

I choose these words before I started my poem and I chose them since they were the first words that popped into my head (except the word “castle” which my friend Cindy (1) suggested to me). I wasn’t sure where I was going to go with this poem when I started so I just kept writing on different days to see how I felt about it during that time. It came down to this and since this is my first big attempt at poetry I am quite pleased with the result. I wanted to incorporate a fairy tale/fantasy sort of element to it and I think I achieved that so I let the rest sort of circle around that. The symbols at the start of the poem are some astrological symbols.

 

 

(1) Go over to Cindy’s beautiful blog at http://deardream.edublogs.org/

 

 

 

 

Feature Image: https://gfycat.com/formaldistinctguppy

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *