Dear Hedge,

 

You are one of the brightest lights in my life and I need you to stop. I need you to stop telling me that I am a good person. I need you to stop telling me your sweet lines. I need you to stop blowing me away Every. Single. Day. I need you to stop because I want to move on.

I never liked romantic things whether it was in books, or movies, or TV shows. I thought it was unnecessary and quite frankly, gross but now that has changed and I need that to stop. You have made me smile at little romance scenes, and cute little things I see on a day to day basis.  I need that to stop because I want to go one day without smiling at people holding hands.

Please don’t get me wrong, I still want you in my life, I still want your jokes, your teasing, your kindness. But I’m scared about the amount of time I spend just thinking about you when there’s nothing for me to do…and when there is.  I’m scared about the way my heart flutters when I get a text from you. I’m scared about the number of things I actually tell you which is real.

My friends tell me to try and go for it, “Just ask him out, what’s the worst that can happen?” What’s the worst that can happen? The worst thing is what I’m scared of what you will do first. Leave. Don’t people always say out of sight out of mind? I can not let you become a stranger before my very eyes because that will be ending my free fall in a crash. A crash that I won’t get 100% back from.

And here’s the difficult part. I make these wishes I whisper to the wind, half hoping they’ll turn into clouds of reality, and the other half of me is wishing no one can hear them. I tell myself I don’t want any part of me liking you, but I think we both know at least a tiny part of me does. You see, it feels like I have the angel and the devil on my shoulder and one is telling me to give in, and the other is telling me to resist, but I don’t know who is saying what anymore. Do you know?

So dear Hedge, this is not a love letter but at the same time, I hate to admit it is.

 

Truly,

Chip

 

 


 

Feature Image: https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/691232242785552780/

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “Not A Love Letter”

  1. SIMRANNNNNN!! I LOVE THIS PIECE SO MUCH, YOU ARE SO TALENTED. This is truly one of my most favourite pieces you have ever wrote because this has your true emotions within it and I can feel it in my soul. I love the last line so much btw.

    PS just ask him out, thank you.

    1. Thank you Tina! I’m so happy you liked it and that you noticed I used real emotion!!! Lots of appreciation for you!!!

      PS I guess you didn’t read the whole paragraph as to why I’m not going to ask him out 😉

      Truly,
      Simran C.

  2. Dear Simran,
    This is such a great piece! I love absolutely everything about it! Everything was very thought out, you ended paragraphs at the perfect sentence and what this is about is such a beautiful topic. I love how you started off about the hesitancy of having feeling for someone, and as the poem evolved, so did the perspective and the acceptance of the topic. I hope you come to realize something that took me too long to is that, you cannot control your feelings, you feel them for a reason, so just let them be. You cannot control how much dopamine is released when you see a person, it is just released, and that’s okay. That is just something I try to live by, and I hope you can find some truth in that. One of my favorite lines in this is “Please don’t get me wrong, I still want you in my life” because I have had to let go of some people even though I want them in my life, and all I can think about sometimes is that they think I hate them for no longer speaking with them, but that isn’t the case, and i hope they know that.
    There is nothing I would suggest for improvement because this is greatly written. I hope you continue to use this blog so I can read your work once I’m in university (hopefully) and read your amazing work!
    Love, Sarah <3

    1. Dear Sarah,

      Thank you so so much for your comment! I’m very happy you could relate to it as well, and thank you for the advice! And don’t worry too much about university, any of them would be lucky to have you!

      Truly,
      Simran C.

  3. Dear Simran,
    This is so beautiful. It is incredibly heartfelt.
    It is also very relatable. You’ve talked about your fears and faced them head on.
    I am incredibly proud of you. It is a genuine fear to commit to someone.
    But as someone who has loved, when it’s with the right person, it is amazing.
    So if you think he’s the right person, please go for it.
    I love reading your writing so never stop.
    With love,
    Tolu x

    1. Dear Tolu,

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment and for reading my post! Also thank you for your advice, and I agree it is scary (but sometimes things that are scary are the things worth doing) 🙂

      Truly,
      Simran C.

  4. Simran,

    I love this & I love you. You seriously have my whole heart & I will live in awe of the 400 different sides of you I am yet to know and understand. You wrote about something so difficult to capture (as hard as I try) and mastered it: desiring someone who you can’t decipher, can’t understand- let me tell you: I FELT that. You are an amazing writer & person and I hope the person you are writing about sees that and treats you amazing. (Ps, I agree with Cristina: go for it!!)

    I loved this piece and I don’t have any tips for improvement other than to let yourself (maybe against better judgment) make your own destiny. Whatever happens, I know you will remain the most beautiful & amazing person I know. I am so happy to have gotten to know you this semester and hope you never stop writing!

    With Love Forever,
    Alyna.

    1. Dear Alyna,

      THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR COMMENT!!!! You’re honestly too sweet! I’m so happy I met you this semester too, and I hope you continue with your blog so I can still see your new pieces! Lots of love to you!

      Truly,
      Simran C.

  5. Dear Simran,

    I saw that this was titled “Not a Love Letter” so I had to click on it to read the anti-romance, as I too absolutely despise romance. Except for this piece, because it was actually very enjoyable, funny, and almost “fluttering.” You captured the awestruck nature of being in love perfectly here, and your words play into that theme of slowly losing control as well. I also love the character progression: originally she claims that she never really liked romance, but in the end, she admits grudgingly that she is indeed writing a love letter.
    For improvement, I would just work on GUMPS a bit. I feel like your writing was mostly error free, but some sentences seem to drag on a bit too long without a comma or a semicolon to split them. But these are just minor gripes with an overall outstanding piece.

    Sincerely,

    Zaid

    1. Dear Zaid,

      I’m very sorry you didn’t get the anti-romance piece you were definitely looking for 😂! I’m happy you liked the character progressing through their feelings, and that it worked well. I will definitely go back and kill those GUMPs (whoops). Thank you!

      Truly,
      Simran C.

  6. Dear Simran,

    I’m just gonna say right off the bat, I was smiling the whole time while reading this. I love it so much because it is so closely tied to the way I write and it’s beyond amazing to see it similar techniques through someone else’s writing mind. This piece is so special, pure and raw and that is what makes it so amazing.

    I will definitely use this line for inspiration because it is so beautiful:

    “You see, it feels like I have the angel and the devil on my shoulder and one is telling me to give in, and the other is telling me to resist, but I don’t know who is saying what anymore.”

    I have no improvements at all, everything in this piece is perfect.

    Thank you for sharing such a vulnerable piece because it’s hard to admit your true feelings for someone but I feel like it’s a lot harder to admit it on paper, because once you do, it’s out in the world forever. This is so beautiful! Thank you for it!

    Sincerely,

    Maira

    1. Dear Maira,

      Thank you so much for your comment! I am happy you were smiling the whole time! I’m also happy you can use a line for inspiration! Thank you!

      Truly,
      Simran C

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *