This post is dedicated to F.Y. For privacy reasons, I won’t put the name, but you know who you are. I’m sending you lots of love and saying thank you for helping me find my inspiration to finish this. 


 

Dreams,

bubbles of colour, and emotion, and peace, and longings, and everything,

Bursting.

Dreams are bursting.

We have lost the ability to see the multitude of colours colliding in our brains,

We have lost ourselves.

Where did those 360° spheres of purely transparent soul go?

Oh to be back in the days when dandelion seeds were the boats of our whispered desires, spreading to

places beyond ourselves;

Now can you remember the last time you plucked one from the tender grass and made its seeds soar?

Dreams are bursting.

When we were kids, bubbles overfilled our minds

d    r    i    f    t    i    n    g

from

Azure underwater castles,

TO

Zipping through space.

Now bubbles hardly even visit our bedside tables.

But here’s the thing, I don’t think they’re completely gone.

You have to

blow,

and blow,

and blow

until the house comes down;

 because bubbles only work when you try.

Bubbles only work when every last bit of breath

-of life-

is released from your lungs.

Bubbles only work when you stop

screaming, and

start believing again.

Dreams are bursting resting,

and when they come back

from their deep slumber,

hope will float along with

them.

 


I actually started this post back last year but never had the right words to really get it going until now. For a while, I’ve been feeling drained in every way possible. Dreams, something that I believe is a person’s most valued asset, is dwindling, and because of that, my personal reserve of hope is having a hard time reaching the light of day. Since before I could remember, I always wanted to see the good in the bad. I reminded myself it’s always there, even if the scales weren’t balanced, but I’ve been having a  tough time with that.

Luckily, I had a midnight chat with one of my friends last night, and from that, I finally got a glimmer of hope I’ve been waiting too long for so, this post is dedicated to her. Thank you for always being there for me, for calming me down, and always making sure to help my bubbles soar.

 

 

Feature Image

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *