I am floating, like a balloon

Until you catch me. 

Your hand wraps around me in an embrace and tells me, 

I have you, don’t worry. 

And I believed you,

Because right then 

That’s what I wanted,

what I needed;

to feel safe, to feel loved. 

But that’s when the wind picks up.

It happens too fast, and too strong, and then I was out of your arms.

I didn’t even get to say goodbye.

 

I am floating, like a ghost.  

Drifting from life to life.

But never being on the same plane as anyone else,  

I didn’t even know I was doing it half the time. 

I saw you but I felt that you didn’t see me. 

Which made me sad. 

But then angry, not at you, only me;

Always me. 

Do better be better, I whispered to myself 

Do better be better 

Do better be better 

I was never better, not from that. 

My eyes looked haunted but I never gave you the chance to ask me why, I know that now. 

I’m sorry. 

But I couldn’t stop. 

And so I floated on.

Not because I wanted to,

But because that was the only thing I knew how to do.

 

I am floating, like a petal.

Taken hostage by the wind. 

The wind that clouded my mind.

That fogged my brain. 

That fed the angry fire which tried to burn me inside out.

But I didn’t fight it hard enough, I wish I had gotten out of its grasp sooner, for you.

For us. 

But that story would be a fairytale and the truth is 

I let things get worse before it got better.

I danced to the beat of the wind and not the beat of my heart. 

 

I am no longer floating, but now I am 

Grounded. 

Grounded like the mountains standing as tall as gentle giants.

Grounded like the grass reaching their bodies to the scorching sun. 

Grounded like the rivers flowing through the earth in zig zags. 

Out of all their willingness to stand and make their own path,

I found strength in myself to push back to you, 

Hoping you still remembered your balloon. 


I was thinking about my mom when writing this piece and how a feel like I have kind of drifted away from her in the past year. This was an accumulation of my feelings towards her and my life at the time.

 

Feature Image: https://www.tumblr.com/tagged/balloon-gif

print
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “I Am Floating…”

  1. Dear Simran,

    WOW. I loved this- seriously, every word! From the first line, I was hooked and wanted to read more. You have such a strong voice that most people work for years to achieve and I am amazed by your ability to write so beautifully. Truth be told, I love everything you’ve written, this being a new favourite. My favourite lines have to be “But that’s when the wind picks up./It happens too fast, and too strong, and then I was out of your arms./I didn’t even get to say goodbye.” I couldn’t explain in words that would suffice but the way you are able to portray an image I otherwise wouldn’t have been able to see is amazing.

    The only feedback I have is to maybe add a short description at the end just because I was left a little curious about the inspiration/story behind this piece!

    This piece was amazing from beginning to end and I am in awe of the amazing writer that is you. Can’t wait to read more pieces love!

    From,
    Alyna <3

    1. Dear Alyna,

      Thank you so much for your comment, it was too kind! I’m very happy you enjoyed this piece. I will definitely add a little blurb at the bottom explaining my inspiration, thanks for the feedback! 🙂

      Truly,
      Simran C.

  2. Dear Simran,

    How dare you write this beautiful piece and not let it be published. It is such an amazing piece of work where I can barely find the words to describe how lovely it is. I can not find anything needing any improvement other than wanting to read it again. This piece is amazing and I can not wait to read more of your works.

    -Melody

    1. Dear Melody,

      Thank you soooooo much for your comment, it was incredibly sweet! I’m so glad that you liked this piece because I find you (like everyone else in this class) so talented and amazing at writing!

      Truly,
      Simran C.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *